SIGNS OF HOPE.

The News can be pretty depressing, war, poverty and cruelty, actually all three are pretty closely linked.  But it isn’t all gloom and doom, in the last few days I saw something which really cheered me up.  The first was programme about deaf children and sign language (BSL).  I love the sound of the human voice, lots of different voices and I have been know to get carried away by the sound of my own voice.  Communicating with others is such an important part of being human, social animals and all that.  To be unable to hear would be a terrible diminution of life.  These lively happy children were communicating with sign language, it seems sign language represents whole words, meanings can be slightly different depending on the situation they appear in.  Amazingly medical experts can discover if a new born baby is hearing or not.  Hearing aids can be fitted to babies.  We saw in the programme a team of deaf football players, they didn’t win the trophy but they were in fact all winners.

    Later I looked on Youtube and saw a young girl, funny and clever and very well organised explaining BSL very clearly.  She has made several of these videos, in one of them she explained that she is herself deaf and has had modern hearing aids fitted.  Her speech was clear with a lovely sound.  She looked I think about seventeen, a very admirable young woman.  Sorry I can’t find the actual link, there are lots of videos about American and British Sign Language on Youtube.

    Life can be wonderful when we can help each other.

6 thoughts on “SIGNS OF HOPE.

  1. That you can write about people who cannot hear as we hear, is a wonderful awareness of those who live in a different world from ours. My grandmother’s tiny sister, Nell, was thrown out of a bedroom window during a fire, way back in 1888! Auntie Nell went on to grow-up and bring forth six children, even though she could barely hear anything. The great thump as she hit the grass below had ruined her hearing. As a typical child I would often stare at her in awe and often wonder what it was like not being able to hear anything.

  2. 1888 That is going quite a way back. Yet Nell managed to bring up six children. Hearing loss has being brought to my attention as I don’t hear as well as I used to. I have hearing aids which help, they are very small to deal with. I can hear Keith but outside can pose problems. The young girl who was explaining sign language was full of life and fun, awesome! I love the radio because they speak into a microphone.
    I got your messages, the email address seemed strange. many, many thanks.

  3. It’s the best time to make some plans for the long run and it’s time to be happy.

    I’ve read this submit and if I may just I want to recommend you some interesting things or advice.

    Maybe you can write subsequent articles relating to this article.
    I wish to read even more things approximately it! http://www.yahoo.net/

  4. Isn’t it wonderful to be inspired instead of depressed by the TV. I learnt how to sigh as a child and have been surprised how useful it has been when least expected! Lovely post.xxx

  5. It is lovely to feel a sense of hope about how we human beings can act when we reach out to others, to know that there are good Samaritans. The young footballers were just as keen and crazy as any football team. Its amazing how resilient and adaptable we human beings can be.
    Many thanks, xxx.

Leave a Reply

