Posted in Uncategorized

GROWING UP.

This morning I listened to the Book of the Week, Margo Jefferson’s  ” Negroland”.  This book is written from two different view-points, the view of the child Margo as she lived it and the adult view of the woman who can put her understanding of a wider society and is able to step back from her own experiences and explain her parents behaviour to her younger self.  This book is elegantly written  and had a powerful impact on me.  There are significant differences as well as considerable points of similarity in our stories.

   Margo grew up in Chicago in the 1950s, I grew up in Sunderland also in the 1950s.  Margo grew up in a middle class prosperous household, I grew up in a poor working class home.  We both had parents who wanted the best for us.  Margo is black and I am white.  We had no television set as a child, we listened to the radio.  I was an early member of the library and my greatest pleasure was reading books and listening to the radio.  I lived in a modern house with a bathroom, it was equipped with hot water and electricity, I shared a bedroom with my younger sister.  Every school day I caught a bus to take me into town, then in town I got on a second bus to take me to the school. I had a free pass so my journey didn’t cost me anything.  I had a school dinner which was the part of the day I liked least.  It was a state school so my parents had nothing to pay.  I liked most of the lessons, two I didn’t like were mathematics and sewing

    At the time I didn’t realise that in fact I was a very lucky girl, many girls in other parts of the world do not get the chance to go to school and some are married off while they are still children.

 

 

Author:

I have been a teacher and a lecturer for a number of years. I am married with two sons. I'm interested drama, films, TV, books, society in general, poverty and riches and political systems.

4 thoughts on “GROWING UP.

  1. How fascinating, it’s always surprising how well kids from poor families turn out compared to many who were born with a silver soon in their mouth. xxx

Leave a Reply

